top of page

Dj Ben Rainey meets DuFashion

October 31, 2014 by Keabetswe Meka

In the last couple of months in Hull’s nightclub scene there has been a significant rise of DJ from West Hull, he has produced a number of mixes and the most recent one is a 30 minute mix called ‘That’s My Jam’. He has also performed at huge local events such as House of Tequila at Pozition and Reminisce at Fuel, it’s the lively character himself and a close friend of mine its DJ Ben Rainey.

Kabi: Now then Ben how you doing mate?

Ben: ‘Now then Kabs I’m doing well yeah you’re right everything’s class at the moment mate it’s good to see you’.

Kabi: As it’s good to see you too mate, now as you can tell in the last 2 months everyone has been raving about Ben Rainey in the night clubs scene like you've been offered gigs at House of Tequila and Fuel. How does it feel to finally get recognised as a DJ playing for big crowds now?

Ben: ‘Ha-ha mate it's quite funny actually because a couple of months ago I was begging my mates to let me bring my decks and speakers to theirs for pre-drinks and gatherings thinking in the back of my head I'll maybe get a chance in a club one day. I had no idea it would be anytime this year but certainly not at House of Tequila in front of all my mates and forgetting nearly 2000 other people to perform to as well, it's mad. I've definitely got a long way to go and it's probably just by luck plus knowing the right people so far that I've managed to get a bit of a movement going.

Kabi: How did that process even begin, like how did you even get recognised to start playing in The nightclub scene like who was your first approach and what was like to be asked to DJ in a club because it may be daunting to some?

Ben: It was out the blue really. I had just uploaded my End of Summer mix on Soundcloud then I shared it on Facebook and Twitter about a thousand times (so apologises to anyone who I annoy with that). Anyway it must have worked because I got a message off Scott Eastburn and Tom Bowden who run House of Tequila asking if I wanted to play at the launch night.

I can remember the feeling and I'm not even going to lie about how nervous and excited I was when I started. I literally was getting sweaty palms, freaking out thinking over in my head how the night was going to pan out and thinking who would be there. To make matter worse, that I was actually going to be playing at a big event in Hull where as I say ‘anyone who's anyone’ would be going. It was stupidly daunting to be honest, I didn't feel ready at all and thought I was going to bottle it at one point.

I think going for it getting thrown in the deep end with that has been the best thing about the whole transition. From messing about on my decks in my bedroom every night annoying my neighbours to actually getting in a club and playing in front of people spinning my favourite songs. However once it came to the night I absolutely loved it, in fact many people commented how buzzing I looked all night and I didn't wipe the smile off my face for about a week after. That’s was when I knew that was exactly what I wanted to do.

I owe a lot to the patience, advice and helping hands of Lewis Hawkes, Ben Straw and Khyle Black who made me feel like I had been DJing 20 years by the time it came to my first gig. Plus you don't feel like you've got to impress anyone, you don't get judged on your technique and style. You just literally play your music and have a laugh there's no rivalry we all promote each other which is what makes it work so well! And obviously a lot, lot of people have shared my music, give me feedback which I’d like to thank for being so supportive which was class.

Renegade Rainey.jpg

Kabi: As we all know you’re a massive fan of house music, but how did you even get into DJing because it's a very finesse hobby to get into especially being a lad in Hull? Ben: ‘I think it was always going to happen to be fair, not particularly in clubs just me and music was going to go somewhere. My family have always been very music orientated and it just rubbed off on me. I used to listen to Northern Soul and Old School House artists from a young age so I've not just all of a sudden become a house freak! It was something I've always loved’

Kabi: Who are you biggest musical influences in the House Music scene? Ben: Without doubt the biggest inspiration for me and anyone who is working their way into scene has to be Disclosure, they show just how far you can take it with this music they've played all over the world. They're genius and there music is so diverse it appeals to everyone. However my main inspiration comes more locally more realistically I love what Ben Dooks from Hull has done producing for record labels. As he has produced the likes of Luke Tibble from Leeds (who is stupidly popular on Soundcloud) and Danny Taylor from Leeds (who has produced some banging remixes including the 'Jess Glynn - Right Here' one I use everywhere I play.

Rainey.jpg

Kabi: Great stuff so when is you next event coming up? When can we see Ben Rainey in action again plus have you got anything to say to your fans?

Ben: Fans? Jesus I think we're pushing it a bit there Kabs. The only true fans I have are probably my mum and my grandma even though she doesn't have a clue what's actually happening she just thinks I'm doing 'alright at playing records' bless her.

But in all seriousness I just love that people love the music I'm playing especially after the first House of Tequila seeing how many people were all over it saying how much they loved the music. Plus special mention to Scott Eastburn and Tom Bowden who put on for them made me realise just how many like-minded people there are out there. So all I can really say is thanks to anyone who's shared, listened to my music and comes to the events and supports the Hull house scene!

The next big event will be Halloween at House of Tequila this Saturday at Pozition Nightclub.

Lastly I just want to make people aware how much of a treat they're in for on Saturday. I know all the other lads DJing have got some weapons to play out for you. Scott and Tom who run House of Tequila have put 120% effort into this one and made some mad additions on what was already a banging launch night last month for this weekend’s Halloween special so it's definitely going off. I've also got a few tricks up my sleeve so don't miss my set 11.30!

See you on the dance floor.

To come see Ben Rainey and the team perform on 1.11.14 House of Tequila at Pozition Nightclub,

Visit the pre-party Soho Hull from 8pm for the final release of 300 wristbands.

House of Tequila

£4 entry with a wristband

£6 entry without a wristband


FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

bottom of page